Roadside saliva testing (Drugswipe3) in UK

Paneer

I drive to work everyday (56 miles round trip) and like to think I'm a good example of a civilised driver (pulled over once in 14 years, due to a fault of my own!). Apart from the odd bus lane fine, I have been relatively clear of any traffic enforcement action. I smoke at least once a day, in most cases when I get home from work, although sometimes I might have a toke before leaving for work. I'm not really a fan of smoking whilst driving (will admit it does get me through horrendous traffic), therefore either prefer to do it before or after work. I have been smoking for over 10 years.

Seeing as this new legislation has come into place as of today, I for one will be affected for sure. It clearly is aimed at the presence of drugs in your system, rather than the actual impairment or effects of drugs on your driving etc. Very unfair, but now it is law and will have to be lived with. My driving is very important to my career and like many I've a mortgage to pay (and a baby on the way!). I cannot afford to lose my license, jeopardise my employment or incur any sort of fine.

Anyone else affected by these new laws? In my experience, I've found MJ (in moderation - no bob marleys at 0500) to increase my awareness making me a more careful driver. Sure, I 'forget' to pick up my speed to the national limit after a restriction, but it is better than speeding right?

I've spent all morning researching how to pass such roadside tests, especially in a short window of time (3-6 hours). Regular brushing/oral hygiene and listerine strips seem to be the best bet, however, not always convenient in a driving seat. I will be carrying listerine strips on me from now on, but I am curious to know if anyone else is worried, concerned or has any experience with road side tests?

As careful and as safe driver I like to consider myself as, this legislation does not require reasonable grounds to authorise the plod to stop you.