What are issues that growers have had with Ebb & Flow systems

Sorry nobody has answered this yet for you!
I have been growing for about three years, all hydro in the basement under the stairs.
I have two tents, one for flowering and one for cloning.
Now, to answer your question - it depends.
You might already know this, but I found out that if I didn't change the water every week, my grow suffered. The quality of the water is very important. But I don't have a 55 gallon tank. I have a 10 gallon reservoir for my main grow in a 2 x 2 1/2 by 5'7" tent. For my clones, I have a deep water culture unit in a smaller tent. It holds 5 gallons. I change the water in both weekly.
I didn't do this on my first two grows, because it was a big job. The water had to be siphoned or pumped through a special hose that emptied out the patio door. But after having miserable results (also due to my incompetence), my dear husband and daughter help me do this every weekend. It takes about an hour or so with them helping. It is worth it. My grows have increased in quality and quantity. I'm still learning, and probably always will be. But I am experienced in this and will be glad to answer any questions.

I'm just learning how to be social on this site. LOL. I'm pretty old, so the idea of social media is a bit new, especially how it is evolving. I have an iphone and an iPad and a beautiful iMac with a 2-inch screen. But I'm not married to any of them enough to constantly check my forums. I'm trying.
Now back to the reservoir.
There are three things your plants need: adequate light, fresh air that moves, and water with nutrients. Any of these that have problems will affect your plants.